Works with this Car

May 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

This is an Acura TL commercial featuring Calvin Johnson being stripped down from football uniform to underwear then built back up into an elegant suit.

I first saw this before the previews at a $2 dollar movie theater before Harry Potter. The classical music and charcoal grey drew me in, but I wondered why an elegant suit ad was playing in this setting. Then the Acura came up, and I heard in a very ‘American’ raspy voice, “It works with people, it works with cars.”

Folks, I think this is one of the better car ads I’ve seen. It effectively described the car without ever talking about the car, AND the ad never shows the car in motion. Revolutionary, or should I say, Stationary?

I do love the ad, but also question the choice of advertising the Acura TL at a $2 dollar theater in a college town.

(Another commercial in the series featuring Ashleigh McIvor)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Works with this Car at Mitchel Kuhn.

meta

